soulmeetsbody

soul and body meet in faith, food, and fitness

Starting a New Routine

Leave a comment

Starting a new routine
My alarm buzzed 5:01 am an I grumpily rolled over, hit the snooze and pulled the covers off – thinking, maybe, just maybe if I was no longer cozy it would force me to get up.  It didn’t.

This silly game with myself went on for nearly 5 weeks before my feet hit the floor, I successfully managed to locate (and put on, mind you) workout clothes and make it out the door of my bedroom.  A few of those days I even managed to get up and change clothes before the magnetic pull of the bed drew me back in. 

I was trying to find a workout routine that would work with my life and not inconvenience me too much and so far, my only option was pre-dawn.  Blech. I liked exercising after work.  Well, like might be a strong word at that point, but it was at least more enjoyable to run in daylight.  However, it wasn’t working.  I couldn’t fit it in with my evening activities and found myself making excuses not to get out to door at all.

“I’ve got 20 group at St. Gertrude’s tonight. I can’t go sweaty.”

“I’ve got to stop at the grocery after work and then I need to make dinner or I’ll have nothing for lunch this week.”

“I’ve got a meeting at 7pm, so I’ll just stay at work until then. It’s too long of a drive home and then to my meeting.”

Not fooling anyone – least of all myself – I knew I needed something different where I could no longer make excuses. So morning workouts it was.

So what’s my point? Starting a new routine can be hard, but persistence will win in the end! I felt defeated those few weeks I would ignore my alarm. I felt a fool the days I got all the way to tying my shoes on before returning to bed for a few more minutes. But eventually something stuck. I managed to reset my internal clock after a few months of waking up early and now I relish beginning my day with a workout and feeling like I’ve accomplished something before I even glance at the number of emails sitting in my inbox at work (and before a lot of people even hear the alarm!).

As the New Year rolls around you might be thinking of adding a new routine, changing a habit or two, and figuring out how to make this workout thing stick.  Try different times of day, different days of the week, a different workout altogether.  You might be surprised when you shake things up and see what sticks. 

What habit or routine do you hope to start in the New Year?  

Author: Jenn at SoulMeetsBodyFitness

Blogger and Beachbody coach at SoulMeetsBody Fitness. I want to share with you my journey of fitness and faith as I discover how intimately the soul and body are connected. It’s my hope that what I’m learning can encourage and spur you on in your own journey to a healthier life – body and soul!

Leave a Reply

