soulmeetsbody

soul and body meet in faith, food, and fitness

Running Away From Stress

1 Comment

January is generally one of the busiest times at work for me as I lead the team preparing for volunteer groups traveling to Guatemala.  And even though I anticipate the stressful season, I still haven’t learned how to handle the stress gracefully.  That being said, I’m grateful for realizing in the past year that running clears my head like no other form of exercise.  Remind me to take a run when I’m stressed this month, ok?

This fall (during the other stressful season at work) I wrote about one such run in my journal and I wanted to share it with you.

Running clears my head like no other form of exercise I’ve found. This may not be the case for everyone, but the crisp, clear, fall air this morning helped me run away from my stress.  Surely, I face the stress again when I reach my front step again, but for those brief moments of my day, I can run from the stressors.

1 ..... week 11

During my warm-up (I have to go straight uphill for 2/3 a mile when I start off) running up the hill into Mt. Washington, I may be processing – facing the demons of worry and anxiety or the vices of anger and pride at something that happened. But if I run long enough I will always outpace the personal demons.

And so I run.

One problem after another sheds itself from my yolk.

 “Come to me, all you who labor and are burdened, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am meek and humble of heart; and you will find rest for your selves. For my yoke is easy, and my burden light.” – Matthew 11:28-30

Mine yolk is not. Yours is not.  But His? He is Truth. And Life.

I trade my yolk for His when I run.

While this may not be the case for all of you when you run, I hold firmly that it is good for us each to find the kind of exercise that allows us that kind of prayerful processing.  What kind of activity allows you to process and leave your problems behind for a little while? 

Image credit: Ellie Stone

Author: Jenn at SoulMeetsBodyFitness

Blogger and Beachbody coach at SoulMeetsBody Fitness. I want to share with you my journey of fitness and faith as I discover how intimately the soul and body are connected. It’s my hope that what I’m learning can encourage and spur you on in your own journey to a healthier life – body and soul!

One thought on “Running Away From Stress

  1. Pingback: A jumble of thoughts from a stressful day | soulmeetsbody

Leave a Reply

