soulmeetsbody

soul and body meet in faith, food, and fitness

Facing the Work

1 Comment

Made for Greatness

It’s the middle of winter, my friend, and I’m in a slump. I’ve been procrastinating, wasting time in a myriad of ways, being lazy, over-indulging, making excuses, avoiding big tasks. I thought the much needed vacation around the holidays would help me shake off this slumpiness.  Nope, didn’t help.

This morning I realized, at least in part, the heart of the issue.  I see the magnitude of the tasks before me and I stall. I freeze up.  I find any excuse under the sun as a reason not to start.  The big tasks I have before me – a busy season at work, growing SoulMeetsBody (and living consistently with the healthy lifestyle I put forth), pouring life into relationships, a massive volunteer project – they overwhelm me with the amount of work I see before me. 

As I reflected, nursing my morning Shakeology and cup of coffee, I remembered feeling the same way in Scotland.  As our group of backpackers was readying the campsite for our last night in civilization (ie: a campground – we’re talking the last flushing toilets for days, folks!), facing gnat-like midges and soaking rain for the first time that trip, I stalled. I froze.

The task ahead was too big. What had I gotten myself into? Five days backpacking with no turning back once we started? Five to six miles hiked each day, in the rain, with the midges, with my pack…how could I live up to the task ahead?  I’d never done anything like it before!

Father Nathan must have been able to see that I was turning more and more inward, getting lost in my fears of a task so large, one that would require so much of me. He lovingly called his weary band of hikers together for an evening powwow.

He reminded us how we’d all come to Scotland to accomplish a great adventure, no matter how daunting it seemed at that moment. Quoting our wise Pope Emeritus Benedict XVI, he said, The world offers you comfort. But you were not made for comfort. You were made for greatness.” 

I honestly don’t know if it was the reminder of our eternal call or something else, but his reminder spoke to my fearful heart and called up from within me a determination to take the first steps and face the work ahead.

And so I must learn that lesson again, back in the normalcy of life.  The tasks ahead seem daunting and may require a lot of me, but they may also lead to something great.

Time for me to get started and face the work ahead.

How do you tackle big tasks ahead of you?

Author: Jenn at SoulMeetsBodyFitness

Blogger and Beachbody coach at SoulMeetsBody Fitness. I want to share with you my journey of fitness and faith as I discover how intimately the soul and body are connected. It’s my hope that what I’m learning can encourage and spur you on in your own journey to a healthier life – body and soul!

One thought on “Facing the Work

  1. Thank you for this beautifully honest reflection and reminding me of this as well. All too often I can get lost in the overwhelmingness of everyday life and tasks that lie before me. For me, it helps to think of the reward that lies at the end of the task.

Leave a Reply

