soulmeetsbody

soul and body meet in faith, food, and fitness

Palm Sunday Reflection: Offering yourself as the donkey

Leave a comment

Donkey [Explored]
Palm Sunday nears and as I think on Jesus entering Jerusalem to throngs of cheering people, I have been reflecting on one of the bit players in the story – the part of the donkey. What would it mean to place myself in the character of the donkey and what could be the significance of its role in my life now? Well, my friends, here’s a bit of what this brain has been pondering.

Being Led Away 

Having grown up on a farm with large animals,  I’ve had my fair share of battles trying to get a beast to go where I want it to go. Let me tell you, they rarely go where you want without some struggle. I have many memories of being red in the face from frustration or so convinced that I could get that dang cow to move that I would try to push it with my 14-year-old girlish strength (read – not much) to force it where I wanted it to go.  But there is no mention of a struggle in the Gospel. The donkey, not an animal particularly known for its docility,  is simply untethered from its post and led away. No struggle. No fighting. It allowed itself to be led away by Jesus’ disciples. Simply led towards Christ and where He is asking it to serve. It forces me to ask myself if I allow the holy men and women of God to untether me from my current life and lead me towards Christ.

Fulfilling my mission by offering my strength

In the character of the donkey I also see how it offers its strength in service to Jesus. It offers to carry Christ into Jerusalem; carry Christ to the masses. What happens when the donkey offers the only gift it has – its entire self – to Christ? The whole city was shaken.

The whole city, folks

As a result of offering its strength to Jesus on Palm Sunday, the donkey fulfills its mission as a beast of burden. I suppose this means that if I offer myself and my strength to be led by Jesus and carry the burden He places upon me, then I too will play a part in carrying the glory of the Jesus to the masses. And maybe, just maybe, my whole city will be shaken, as I fulfill the mission given me.  All for the glory of Christ, I will offer my strength at His service.

Photo via Riccardo Cuppini

Author: Jenn at SoulMeetsBodyFitness

Blogger and Beachbody coach at SoulMeetsBody Fitness. I want to share with you my journey of fitness and faith as I discover how intimately the soul and body are connected. It’s my hope that what I’m learning can encourage and spur you on in your own journey to a healthier life – body and soul!

Leave a Reply

