soulmeetsbody

soul and body meet in faith, food, and fitness

Sriracha Maple Steak Marinade

4 Comments

I don’t know where this month has gone! It’s been three weeks since I’ve posted anything and I’ve wanted to share this recipe with you for nearly as long! I’m blessed to have lean, juicy steaks from my parent’s small farm in Indiana and with the recent acquisition of a grill, (cedar plank salmon! grilled pizza! kebobs! Oh, the possibilities!!) I think this marinade will add some nice variety into my normal recipe rotation.

A homemade teriyaki marinade is my favorite for chicken, steak, and all varieties of pork, but a month or two ago when I was pulling steak out of the freezer I decided I wanted a bit of variety. Using my old standby marinade as a jumping point, I created something delicious, but with an intriguing twist of flavors. It was even better the second go around, so with a head nod to the official start of summer, here is my new summer go to…

Sriracha Maple Marinade
Sriracha Maple Marinade

enough to marinate two steaks

1/2 c lite soy sauce

2 tsp Sriracha sauce

2 Tbs vegetable oil

2 tsp lemon juice

1-2 Tbs maple syrup*

Combine all the ingredients in a small bowl and whisk together.  Pour into a ziploc bag or container with the steaks at least 12-24 hours ahead of cooking the steak. After a couple hours of marinating, flip the steaks so they flavor evenly.

*Note on maple syrup: It’s worth it to use the real stuff. I didn’t try it, but I imagine you would lose a lot of the complexity of the flavors by substituting pancake syrup that you have in the fridge. It’s worth using the real stuff if you have it! The sweetness cuts the spicy, so go more towards 2 Tbs if you wish.

Author: Jenn at SoulMeetsBodyFitness

Blogger and Beachbody coach at SoulMeetsBody Fitness. I want to share with you my journey of fitness and faith as I discover how intimately the soul and body are connected. It’s my hope that what I’m learning can encourage and spur you on in your own journey to a healthier life – body and soul!

4 thoughts on “Sriracha Maple Steak Marinade

  1. Hello there! I am a newbie here (via Catholic Women Blogging Network), and love that we both have faith and fitness in common! I’m copying your marinade recipe for sure- it sounds delish!! We’re trying to get more Paleo focused around here so, the grill is going to be used a lot this summer! Looking forward to keeping up with you!!

    • Thanks for stopping over Susan! I bookmarked your post to read today too after seeing it in the Catholic Women Blogger’s group! I definitely will want to follow your Paleo stuff. I’m interested in doing it, but haven’t quite made the leap. Let me know how you like the marinade when you try it.

  2. Oh, it sounds so simple and delicious! Looking forward to trying it! (Stopping by from the Catholic Women Blogging Network, too!)

Leave a Reply

