soulmeetsbody

soul and body meet in faith, food, and fitness

The Blessing of Community

Leave a comment

Real community
After a week of hiatus in my current challenge group, I’m feeling very blessed to have the SoulMeetsBody community around me.  This week I have been traveling in Guatemala for work and had super limited computer and internet time.  Just enough to say hi to my boo and quickly post a couple updates to Facebook and Instagram.  Reading the posts in my Beachbody Challenge group had to wait.  When I finally had uninterrupted internet access, it took me a solid hour to read through and respond to all the check ins.  And I have to admit, it was an hour that has inspired me!

A Beachbody challenge group is a group of people who have made a commitment for 60-90 days to journey together as they start to lose weight and/or get into better shape using a particular workout program and the nutrition plan alongside it.  Using Facebook, we form a private community where we can share challenges and celebrate wins day by day. It is in this accountability that our community is forming and becoming a blessing to me.

The community formed when you walk on your weightloss journey with others can be an incredible motivator! I’ve written before how it has made such a difference in my own journey as a member, but this week as a facilitator of my own group – I’m reminded once more of the blessing of community.

Group members are not simply posting in the group to check another “to-do” off their list, but are encouraging each other as we all learn how to make better decisions for our health and fitness. They are praying for those who faced sickness this week, encouraged those who are discouraged, and celebrated the wins of squeezing in a workout on a busy day.

This community is not about putting up a facade of being perfect. After all, real community is not formed with masks and facades.  Real community is formed because a few men and women in the group are sharing their challenges and disappointments as well as their wins.  And it is in this vulnerability that others can begin to feel comfortable sharing their life as well. After witnessing this week how this community is coming together, I can’t help but feel blessed to be part of it.

What communities are a blessing in your life? 

Author: Jenn at SoulMeetsBodyFitness

Blogger and Beachbody coach at SoulMeetsBody Fitness. I want to share with you my journey of fitness and faith as I discover how intimately the soul and body are connected. It’s my hope that what I’m learning can encourage and spur you on in your own journey to a healthier life – body and soul!

Leave a Reply

